A HUGE Saturday in Bude’s season takes place tomorrow as they aim for survival in Counties One Western West.

The Seasiders are level on points with second bottom Bideford going into this weekend’s home clash with title-chasing Paignton (2.30pm), while Biddy, who like Bude are five points behind fourth from last Wiveliscombe, host the Somerset club in a pivotal match.

A Bideford win drags Wivvy right back into it, while a defeat for the North Devon club will ensure Wivvy are two wins clear with just four games to go.

Bude will also be praying for a Wiveliscombe win as a defeat for them against Paignton and a win for Bideford will likely put Bude four or five points behind Bideford.

To add to the drama, Bude welcome Bideford on the final day, and also have a game in-hand at out-of-form Tavistock next Saturday.

Paignton head to Bencoolen Meadow on a run of 11 wins from their last 12 matches, and saw off the Seasiders comfortably back in November by 50 points to 19.

That said, Bude are always a tough proposition on their own turf and will, at the very least, fancy picking up a losing bonus point.

Bude are short of firepower in the pack with props Fraser Martyn, Jason Bolt and Chris Allin all missing, as is hooker Rory Mead and lock Will Kingdon.

Young prop Josh Brown gets a first start at Step Seven level with veterans Martin George and Matt Williams making up the rest of the front row.

The versatile Ed Hilliam-Cooke is at lock alongside Will Hockridge, while Ben Tharme gets a start at flanker with skipper Fred Saxton and number eight Ben Hancock making up the rest of the back row.

The backline has its usual look to it with Charlie Watton and Harry Dymond the half-backs and Olly Denford and the returning Will Pharo in the centres.

Rory Hodges is preferred to Pat Marks on the wing with Zerran Hammond and Brad Thomas also in the team.

BUDE v Paignton: Brad Thomas, Rory Hodges, Will Pharo, Olly Denford, Zerran Hammond, Harry Dymond, Charlie Watton; Josh Brown, Martin George, Matt Williams, Ed Hilliam-Cooke, Will Hockridge, Freddie Saxton (capt), Ben Tharme, Ben Hancock. Replacements: Andrew Sillifant, Pat Marks, Jack Horwell.